Openfiler Will Not Map iSCSI Luns to iSCSI Targets

NOTE: I found a much better way to do this.

See my new post: Openfiler Will Not Map iSCSI Luns to iSCSI Targets (Part 2). Use the directions below at your own risk! The solution below doesn’t fix the problem for NFS, btrfs, ext2\3\4, or xfs and can possibly lead to data loss.

Last night I was putting the finishing touches on my new Openfiler 2.99 box. Once strange thing, although I could see my volumes in the ‘Volume Management’ page, clicking ‘Map’ in the iSCSI target’s Lun Mapping page would just refresh the page without any changes.

In my case, running lvscan showed that the volumes were ‘inactive’. Changing them to ‘active’ by running ‘lvchange -ay /dev/vol/volname’ allowed me to map again! Sadly, rebooting changed them back to ‘inactive’, probably since they’re on a software raid volume that isn’t automatically assembling on boot.

so, back to editing the rc.local.

Solution

  1. run lvscan to find your inactive volumes.
  2. vi /etc/rc.local and add the following lines (change to your /dev/vg/volume names though):
    service openfiler stop
    #reactive lvm volumes
    lvchange -ay /dev/jetstor/axisdisk
    lvchange -ay /dev/jetstor/dpmbackups
    lvchange -ay /dev/jetstor/desktopimages
    
    #reimport openfiler volumes
    /root/remake_vol_info2
    
    service openfiler start
    

One important note! You might need the remake_vol_info2 script from my previous post here: Openfiler Software Raid Volumes Disappear on Reboot. Because of the software raid problem, my final /etc/rc.local looks like this:

#!/bin/sh
#
# This script will be executed *after* all the other init scripts.
# You can put your own initialization stuff in here if you don't
# want to do the full Sys V style init stuff.

touch /var/lock/subsys/local

#stop openfiler service to make changes to storage subsystem
service openfiler stop

#recreate software raid volumes on JetStor
mdadm -A -s

#recreate volumes in the Openfiler GUI
/root/remake_vol_info2

#reactive lvm volumes
lvchange -ay /dev/jetstor/axisdisk
lvchange -ay /dev/jetstor/dpmbackups
lvchange -ay /dev/jetstor/desktopimages

#restart openfiler service with all volumes
service openfiler start
5 thoughts on “Openfiler Will Not Map iSCSI Luns to iSCSI Targets

  1. Hi, what should be the username and password to use in order to login to the openfile dos console? I tried openfiler/password but “This interface has not been implemented yet.”

  2. Pingback: Table of Contents | windowsmasher

  3. Hi,
    I am working on some test which requires 256 iscsi luns, creating 256 iSCSI volumes on openfiler using open filer GUI is very tedious job, can you please let me know if there is any script, from which i can create 256 volumes.

  4. Hello,
    Hoping to find help, I had a problem in my Openfiler interface at the iSCSI Targets level, the /opt/openfiler/etc/iscsi/targets/iscsi_settings.xml file Is now empty, I can no longer connect to my logical volumes.
    Knowing that I have no backup above, and Openfiler works well except the iSCSI Targets part.

    There would be a solution to recover this file?

    I’m stuck..looking for help.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

