Help! I deleted my ifcfg files!

I was trying to fix an ethernet problem on my openfiler installation, and per a forum suggestion deleted my /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg* files without a backup (I’m new to linux and learning :).

The ifcfg files are all of a standard format and can be recreated manually according to the following structure:

DEVICE=eth0
MTU=1500
USERCTL=no
ONBOOT=yes
BOOTPROTO=static
IPADDR=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
NETMASK=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Once created, use the following to bring the interface online:
ifup eth0

Reference: CentOS ifcfg-eth0 config file deleted. Utility to recreate it?

One thought on “Help! I deleted my ifcfg files!

  1. Pingback: Table of Contents | windowsmasher

Leave a Reply

