McAfee ePO 4.6 Not Enforcing Virusscan 8.8i Policies

I’ve been having trouble with ePO. Who hasn’t? Honestly though, it’s a pretty good program once you understand how to feed it properly. I recently needed to add an exclusion to a sever which had just been updated to virusscan 8.8i. However, my policies weren’t enforcing. I don’t have the motivation to give you the entire diagnostic process, so here’s the fix — sorry!

In my case, I had a good lead. If you look at this picture, you’ll notice that in the policy list there aren’t any references to VirusScan 8.8, only 8.7.

In my case, when I checked in the McAfee VirusScan 8.8 package I neglected to also check in the “Extension”. To do that, perform the following operations:

  1. Menu -> Software -> Extensions
  2. Install Extensions
  3. Browse to the extension’s zip file (it’s inside the check-in zip file).
  4. Hit OK.
  5. Now, to migrate your 8.7i policies automatically, run the file “ePolicyMigration.exe” inside the ePO VirusScan 8.8 package’s zip file. It shouldn’t give you any problems or prompts.
All better! (See image below).
4 thoughts on “McAfee ePO 4.6 Not Enforcing Virusscan 8.8i Policies

Leave a Reply

